Rouen to host Super Final

Nineteen teams will play in 2011-2012 Continental Cup


The Continental Cup Super Final goes back to Rouen, France, where it was hosted in 2009. Photo: Martin Merk

BUDAPEST – The International Ice Hockey Federation has determined the clubs, groups and dates for the 2011-2012 IIHF Continental Cup at the Annual Continental Cup Meeting in Budapest, Hungary.

The Super Final will be held in Rouen, France, January 13-15, 2012. The Rouen Dragons hosted the event already in 2009 in their small, but atmospheric Île Lacroix Arena. The club from the Normandy region recently defended its title in the French Ligue Magnus.

Reigning Continental Cup champion Yunost Minsk from Belarus will be the other pre-qualified team for the Super Final. Yunost is a regular Continental Cup participant, having won the Belarusian championship three years in a row.

Two more finalists will be determined in the preliminary round events. In total 19 teams from as many countries will participate in the Continental Cup that is spread over four stages and six tournaments.

Almost all teams are national champions from their countries. A notable exception is Russia’s representative Rubin Tyumen, which won the VHL, Russia’s second-tier league.

Donbass Donetsk, the winner of the Ukrainian league, will also play in the VHL next season and will host one of the two third-round tournaments of the Continental Cup. The other will be held in Herning, Denmark.

The second-round groups will be played in Dunaujvaros (Hungary) and Miercurea Ciuc (Romania) while the first round takes place in the Turkish capital of Ankara.

2011-2012 IIHF Continental Cup

First round, 30 September - 2 October 2011:

Group A in Ankara, Turkey: White Caps Turnhout (BEL), Baskent Yildizlari Ankara (TUR), Tartu Kalev-Välk (EST), Metula HC (ISR).

Second round, 21-23 October 2011:

Group B in Dunaujvaros, Hungary: HYS The Hague (NED), CH Jaca  (ESP), Dunaujvarosi Acelbikak (HUN), Winner Group A.

Group C in Miercurea Ciuc, Romania: Liepajas Metalurgs (LAT), Olimpija Ljubljana (SLO), HSC Csikszereda (ROU), Beibarys Atyrau (KAZ).

Third round, 25-27 November 2011:

Group D in Herning, Denmark: HC Asiago (ITA), Sheffield Steelers (GBR), Herning Blue Fox (DEN), Winner Group B.

Group E in Donetsk, Ukraine: Rubin Tyumen (RUS), Cracovia Krakow (POL), Donbass Donetsk (UKR), Winner Group C.

Super Final, 13-15 January 2012:

Group F in Rouen, France: Rouen Dragons (FRA), Yunost Minsk (BLR), Winner Group D, Winner Group E.

The delegates at the annual Continental Cup meeting in Budapest decided about the groups and hosts of the 2011-2012 IIHF Continental Cup.
Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy