Happy Birthday Russia!

VIDEO: 70 years of love & passion for ice hockey

The first official ice hockey game of the Soviet championship on 22nd December 1946 is considered the hour of birth for Russian ice hockey.

Dynamo Moscow became the first champion ahead of CDKA Moscow (better known some years later as CSKA Moscow, or in North America as the Red Army Team) and Spartak Moscow.

The national team was created in 1952 and won in its first World Championship participation. In total the Russian and Soviet national teams won 27 World Championships, eight Olympic gold medals and 13 World Junior titles.

Watch below a video on 70 years of ice hockey in the country from the Ice Hockey Federation of Russia.

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing www.iihf.com pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy