Chermonaz, Simpson to coach Canada

Coaching staff for Deutschland Cup and Spengler Cup announced


Sean Simpson won the 2007 Spengler Cup. Photo: Mettler

CALGARY – Hockey Canada announced the  coaching staffs for two upcoming events for the men’s national team, the 2008 Deutschland Cup and the 2008 Spengler Cup.

Rich Chernomaz was named head coach for Canada at the Deutschland Cup, November 7-9, 2008, in Frankfurt and Mannheim, Germany. Doug Mason and Dave Babych will serve as his assistants.

Chernomaz, the head coach of the DEL team Frankfurt Lions, will make his first appearance behind a national team bench. As a player, he recorded  three points in eight games at the 1995 IIHF World Championship, winning a bronze medal.

Mason will his international coaching debut at the Deutschland Cup, as will Babych, who played twice for Canada at the IIHF World Championship in 1981, and 1989, scoring four points in 17 games. Babych played 19 seasons in the NHL, recording 723 points in 1,195 games with Winnipeg, Hartford, Vancouver, Philadelphia and Los Angeles.

Sean Simpson will lead Canada at the 2008 Spengler Cup, December 26-31, in Davos, Switzerland. It is the second consecutive year he will coach the Canadians. Serge Pelletier and Russ Courtnall are Simpson’s assistants.

Simpson, head coach of the ZSC Lions Zurich of the Swiss NLA, led Team Canada to the Spengler Cup championship in 2007. It was his first time as the head coach at the event after serving three straight years as an assistant. Simpson, a seventh-round selection of the Chicago Blackhawks in 1980, won a Swiss championship with EV Zug in 1998 and a German title with the Munich Barons in 2000.

Both Pelletier, who is in his third season as head coach of NLA team HC Fribourg-Gottéron, and Courtnall, who represented Canada at the 1984 IIHF World U20 Championship, 1984 Winter Olympics, 1991 IIHF World Championship and 1991 Canada Cup, will be making their first appearances behind a Canadian bench. Courtnall recorded 744 points in 1,029 NHL games with Toronto, Montreal, Minnesota, Dallas, Vancouver, the New York Rangers and Los Angeles.

“We are thrilled to name these six coaches to lead our national team this year,” says Johnny Misley, Hockey Canada’s executive vice-president of hockey operations. “It shows the depth of the Canadian coaching pool in international hockey, and we are confident these coaches will make our country proud.”

Canada has won the Spengler Cup 11 times (1984, 1986, 1987, 1992, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2002, 2003, 2007) and has taken home the Deutschland Cup on three occasions (2000, 2002, 2005).




Quinn and Jack are on track

Tickets now available!

New China office inaugurated

GB’s historic season

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy