Sweden names squads

Women’s and U18 national team announced

STOCKHOLM – The Swedish Ice Hockey Association has announced its teams for the 2009 IIHF World Women’s Championship and for the World U18 Championship.

After a fifth-place finish last year in Harbin, China, Sweden named a younger team with three rookies – Valentina Lizana, Erica Udén-Johansson and Frida Svedin Thunström – for the women’s national team. Four Swedes play college hockey in the United States for the University of Minnesota-Duluth, the rest plays at home.

Sweden faces Canada and China in its group at the 2009 IIHF World Women’s Championship in Hämeenlinna, Finland.

The Swedish women’s national team:

Goalkeepers: Sara Grahn (Linköping), Kim Martin (U. Minnesota-Duluth), Valentina Lizana (AIK Solna).

Defencemen: Frida Nevalainen (MODO), Jenni Asserholt (U. Minnesota-Duluth), Emma Nordin (MODO), Emma Eliasson (Brynäs), Gunilla Andersson (Segeltorp), Ylva Lindberg (Segeltorp).

Forwards: Elin Holmöv (U. Minnesota-Duluth), Maria Rooth (AIK Solna), Erika Holst (Segeltorp), Tina Enström (Linköping), Cecilia Östberg (Leksand), Isabelle Jordansson (AIK Solna), Erica Udén-Johansson (MODO), Katarina Timglas (AIK Solna), Pernilla Winberg (U. Minnesota-Duluth), Klara Myrén (Leksand), Frida Svedin Thunström (MODO), Danijela Rundqvist (AIK Solna).

Sweden also announced a 21-man preliminary roster for the 2009 IIHF World U18 Championship in Fargo and Moorhead, United States. All players announced come from Swedish clubs while forward William Wallén of the OHL’s Mississauga St. Michaels Majors remains as a candidate to join the team overseas.

Sweden finished in fourth place last year and plays Canada, Germany, Switzerland and the Czech Republic in the preliminary round.

The Swedish U18 national team:

Goalkeepers: Johan Gustafsson (Färjestad), Robin Lehner (Frölunda).

Defencemen: Eddie Larsson (Linköping), Simon Bertilsson (Brynäs), Niklas Edman (Färjestad), Oliver Ekman Larsson (Leksand), Fredrik Styrman (Luleå), Adam Larsson (Skellefteå), Peter Andersson (Frölunda), Tim Erixon (Skellefteå).

Forwards: Patrick Cehlin (Djurgården), Martin Karlsson (Leksand), Gabriel Landeskog (Djurgården), Anton Lander (Timrå), Carl Klingberg (Frölunda), Filip Gunnarsson (Färjestad), Magnus Svensson Pääjärvi (Timrå), Jonathan Johansson (Frölunda), Calle Järnkrok (Brynäs), Jacob Josefson (Djurgården), Mattias Lindström (Skellefteå), Oscar Lindberg (Skellefteå).



New IIHF.com

Quinn and Jack are on track

Tickets now available!

New China office inaugurated

GB’s historic season

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing www.iihf.com pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy