Cracovia Polish champion

Trophy goes to Krakow again after 7-0 victory in game five

KRAKOW, Poland – Cracovia Krakow won the Polish championship for the second consecutive time. Like last spring, Cracovia defeated GKS Tychy in the final series.
The games between the best two teams of the country were a close race until Monday night. It began well for Cracovia with a 5-4 shootout win and a 2-1 win with a late game-winner on home ice before Tychy won its first game on home-ice, 4-3. After Cracovia won the fourth game 3-1, they series went back to Krakow and the home team had it in its own hands.
Tychy’s resistance seemed to be broken when Sebastian Kowalowka opened the scoring with a shorthander at 13:24. Cracovia ousted its opponents in a 7-0 victory in front of 2,000 spectators. It was the eighth championship for the club.
By winning the Polish title, Cracovia Krakow will play in the first qualification stage of the 2009-2010 Champions Hockey League. Last year, they participated in the Continental Cup but lost their second-stage group to Ukraine’s Sokil Kyiv.
Same as last year, Podhale Nowy Targ won the bronze-medal series of the Polish playoffs, 3-0 against Stoczniowiec Gdansk.
Former series champion Unia Oswiecim, which was surprisingly relegated last year, rejoins the top league after winning the final series of the second-tier league against KTH Krynica, 3-1. They will replace Polonia Bytom.




Quinn and Jack are on track

Tickets now available!

New China office inaugurated

GB’s historic season

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy