Lindy Ruff behind Canada bench

Canada names coaching staff for 2009 World Championship

CALGARY, Canada – Canada announced on Sunday that Lindy Ruff (Buffalo Sabres) will serve as head coach for Canada at the 2009 IIHF World Championship in Switzerland. Dave Tippett (Dallas Stars) and Barry Trotz (Nashville Predators) will join Ruff as associate coaches.

Ruff, 48, is the longest-tenured current coach in the NHL, having just completed his 12th season with Buffalo. The Warburg native, leads all current NHL coaches with 438 wins, and is the all-time winningest coach in Sabres history, helping Buffalo capture its first Presidents’ Trophy in 2006-07. Ruff played 691 games in the NHL, serving as Buffalo’s captain from 1987-89. It is  Ruff’s first opportunity as a coach for Canada in international hockey.

Tippett, 47, has been the head coach of the Dallas Stars for the past six seasons, leading the team to five playoff appearances, two 50-win seasons, two Pacific Division titles (2003, 2006) and the Western Conference Final in 2008. As a player, the native of Moosomin represented Canada at two Olympics (1984, 1992), winning a silver medal at the 1992 Olympics in Albertville. He also played with Canada’s national team in 1983-84 and 1991-92, appearing in 74 international games and recording 35 points.

Trotz, 46, has been the head coach of the NHL’s Nashville Predators since the franchise’s debut in the NHL in 1998. Trotz has served an assistant coach for Canada at two IIHF World Championships (2002, 2003), capturing a gold medal in 2003. The native of Winnipeg is the second longest-tenured coach in the NHL, behind Ruff.

“As a management group, we are very pleased with the coaching staff that we have been able to assemble,” said Armstrong. “This coaching staff brings great professional and international experience that will serve us well as we strive to win a gold medal in Switzerland.”  




Quinn and Jack are on track

Tickets now available!

New China office inaugurated

GB’s historic season

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy