Swiss make last cut

Host add Toronto’s Gerber and three rookies

ZURICH – Switzerland named its final roster for the 2009 IIHF World Championship on home ice in Berne and Zurich-Kloten on Thursday.

After two victories in Oslo against Norway, Switzerland coach Ralph Krueger made the last cuts, sending home goalkeepers Marco Bührer and Lukas Flüeler, defencemen Timo Helbling and Patrick von Gunten, as well as forwards Patrik Bärtschi and Marc Reichert.

After the New York Islander’s NHL All-Star defenceman Mark Streit, another NHL player was announced with Toronto Maple Leafs goalie Martin Gerber, who played in last year’s World Championship.

A third player came back from North America with goalie Daniel Manzato, who played in the Carolina system for the AHL’s Albany River Rats.

Krueger’s team also has three rookies with defencemen Félicien Du Bois and Roman Josi, and forward Ryan Gardner.

Du Bois, 25, made the roster for the first time being a candidate for awhile.

Josi will be one of the youngest players in the tournament. The 18-year-old played in three World U20 Championships and two World U18 Championships. He finished the second full season SC Bern. Last year, he was drafted by  Nashville in the second round but signed with Bern for next year.

Canada-born Gardner received a Swiss passport last year after a long career in Switzerland. He was one of the leading players for Zurich’s triumph in the CHL.

Team Switzerland as of April 17

Goalkeepers: Martin Gerber (Toronto Maple Leafs, NHL), Daniel Manzato (Albany River Rats, AHL), Ronnie Rüeger (Kloten Flyers).

Defencemen: Goran Bezina (Geneva-Servette), Severin Blindenbacher (ZSC Lions), Raphael Diaz (EV Zug), Félicien Du Bois (Kloten Flyers), Philippe Furrer (SC Bern), Roman Josi (SC Bern), Mathias Seger (ZSC Lions), Mark Streit (New York Islanders, NHL).

Forwards: Andres Ambühl (HC Davos), Thomas Déruns (Geneva-Servette), Ryan Gardner (ZSC Lions), Sandy Jeannin (Fribourg-Gottéron), Romano Lemm (HC Lugano), Thibaut Monnet (ZSC Lions), Thierry Paterlini (HC Lugano), Martin Plüss (SC Bern), Kevin Romy (HC Lugano), Ivo Rüthemann (SC Bern), Raffaele Sannitz (HC Lugano), Julien Sprunger (Fribourg-Gottéron), Roman Wick (Kloten Flyers), Thomas Ziegler (SC Bern).




Quinn and Jack are on track

Tickets now available!

New China office inaugurated

GB’s historic season

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy