34 players invited to U.S. camp

Orientation Camp includes five former Olympians


Mike Modano, on the left against Finn Jere Lehtinen, might play his fourth Olympic Games in Vancouver. Photo: Jukka Rautio / Europhoto

COLORADO SPRINGS, United States – USA Hockey invited 34 players to the U.S. Olympic Men's Ice Hockey Orientation Camp from August 17-19 in Woodridge, Illinois.

Among the Olympic candidates are five Olympians including Mike Modano (1998, 2002, 2006), Chris Drury (2002, 2006), Brian Rafalski (2002, 2006), Scott Gomez (2006) and Jamie Langenbrunner (1998).

Many new faces will be at the event including eight players who recommended themselves at the 2009 IIHF World Championship while several veterans are missing. However, the 34-man list doesn’t indicate that only those players are candidates to play in the 2010 Olympics in Vancouver.

Team USA General Manager Brian Burke said in a conference call on Tuesday that about 50 additional players might be potential candidates too, and could be part of the U.S. Anti-Doping Agency drug testing protocol in view of the upcoming Olympics.

At the same time, Burke made it clear that he will go without a number of former Olympians. “We are probably going to be the youngest team in the tournament, we know that. But we are going there to win and we've tried to identify a group that will give us our best chance to do that,” he said to the National Post.

Other players highlighting the roster include 2009 Vezina Trophy winner Tim Thomas, Zach Parise, who led all Americans with 45 goals and 94 points during the 2008-09 season, and number one draft picks Erik Johnson and Patrick Kane.

2009 U.S. Olympic Men's Ice Hockey Orientation Camp Roster

Goaltenders: Ryan Miller (Buffalo Sabres), Jonathan Quick (Los Angeles Kings), Tim Thomas (Boston Bruins).

Defencemen: Tom Gilbert (Edmonton Oilers), Tim Gleason (Carolina Hurricanes), Ron Hainsey (Atlanta Thrashers), Erik Johnson (St. Louis Blues), Jack Johnson (Los Angeles Kings), Mike Komisarek (Montreal Canadiens), Paul Martin (New Jersey Devils), Brooks Orpik (Pittsburgh Penguins), Brian Rafalski (Detroit Red Wings), Rob Scuderi (Pittsburgh Penguins), Ryan Suter (Nashville Predators), Ryan Whitney (Anaheim Ducks).

Forwards: David Backes (St. Louis Blues), David Booth (Florida Panthers), Dustin Brown (Los Angeles Kings), Dustin Byfuglien (Chicago Blackhawks), Ryan Callahan (New York Rangers), Chris Drury (New York Rangers), Scott Gomez (New York Rangers), Patrick Kane (Chicago Blackhawks), Ryan Kesler (Vancouver Canucks), Phil Kessel (Boston Bruins), Jamie Langenbrunner (New Jersey Devils), Ryan Malone (Tampa Bay Lightning), Mike Modano (Dallas Stars), Kyle Okposo (New York Islanders), T.J. Oshie (St. Louis Blues), Zach Parise (New Jersey Devils), Joe Pavelski (San Jose Sharks), Bobby Ryan (Anaheim Ducks), Paul Stastny (Colorado Avalanche).



New IIHF.com

Quinn and Jack are on track

Tickets now available!

New China office inaugurated

GB’s historic season

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing www.iihf.com pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy