The captains are ready

Twenty teams to select their team leaders

The Olympic Winter Games have yet to begin for 16 teams. takes a look at who has been named captain, and who might be given this honour in the coming days.

Men’s Tournament
  • Belarus: to be determined, probably Ruslan Salei
  • Canada: Scott Niedermayer (alternate: Sidney Crosby, Jarome Iginla, Chris Pronger)
  • Czech Republic: Patrik Elias (alternate: Tomas Kaberle, Jaromir Jagr)
  • Finland: Saku Koivu (alternate: Teemu Selänne,Kimmo Timonen)
  • Germany: Marco Sturm (alternate: Dennis Seidenberg, Sven Felski)
  • Latvia: to be determined, probably Karlis Skrastins
  • Norway: to be determined, probably Tommy Jakobsen
  • Russia: to be determined, probably Alexei Morozov
  • Slovakia: Zdeno Chara
  • Sweden: Nicklas Lidström
  • Switzerland: Mark Streit (alternate: Sandy Jeannin, Mathias Seger)
  • USA: Jamie Langenbrunner (alternate: Brian Rafalaski, Dustin Brown, Zach Parise, Ryan Suter)

Women’s Tournament
  • Canada: Hayley Wickenheiser (alternate: Jayna Hefford, Caroline Ouellette)
  • China: Wang Linuo (alternate: Sun Rui, Jin Fengling)
  • Finland: Emma Laaksonen (alternate: Jenni Hiirikoski, Saara Tuominen)
  • Russia: to be determined, probably Ekaterina Smolentseva
  • Switzerland: Kathrin Lehmann (alternate: Christine Meier, Julia Marty)
  • Slovakia: Iveta Karafiatova (alternate: Jana Kapustova, Anna Dzurnakova)
  • Sweden: Erika Holst (alternate: Jenni Asserholt, Maria Rooth)
  • USA: Natalie Darwitz (alternate: Julie Chu, Jenny Potter, Angela Ruggiero)




Quinn and Jack are on track

Tickets now available!

New China office inaugurated

GB’s historic season

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy