Men’s rosters announced

Germany, Sweden, Belarus, Norway make roster moves

VANCOUVER – The men’s rosters for the 2010 Olympic Winter Games were published on Monday, one day before the start of the tournament.

These 23-man rosters (20+3) are final and no changes will be possible during the event, not even in a case of an injury. The rosters have been published on, under Statistics this afternoon. Player profiles and photos will be published later.

The Swedish Olympic Committee announced on Sunday one change to the preliminary roster. Forward Tomas Holmström will not be able to participate due to a knee injury and will be replaced by Johan Franzén.

The German Ice Hockey Association announced its final roster. Compared to the preliminary roster announced in December, defenceman Jason Holland has been replaced by Sven Butenschön, and forwards Alexander Barta and Philip Gogulla have been replaced by Jochen Hecht and Kai Hospelt.

Norway replaced injured forward Morten Ask by Jonas Andersen of Sparta Sarpsborg.

Belarus was forced to replace six injured players including NHLers Andrei Kostitsyn and Mikhail Grabovsky. The others are Andrei Antonov, Andrei Bashko, Vadim Sushko and Alexander Syrei. The new players on the rosters are Sergei Kolosov, Andrei Karev, Alexander Makritsky, Alexander Ryadinsky, Konstantin Zakharov, Dmitri Meleshko.

Hockey Canada announced that its roster will remain the same as announced in December. Ryan Getzlaf has been cleared to play and will remain on the roster. Canada's team management has informed Jeff Carter, who was on Canada's reserve list that he will not be added to the roster.

Also the Czech Republic, Finland, Latvia and Russia don't have changes to the provisional roster.

Slovakia already announced in January that injured defenceman Richard Lintner was replaced by Ivan Baranka.

Switzerland also did several changes due to injuries prior to the deadline. Goalkeeper Martin Gerber was replaced by Ronnie Rüeger, defencemen Goran Bezina and Roman Josi were replaced by Philippe Furrer and Patrick von Gunten, and forward Kevin Romy was replaced by Romano Lemm.




Quinn and Jack are on track

Tickets now available!

New China office inaugurated

GB’s historic season

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy