Minnesota wins Clarkson Cup

Beusekom-Sweerin earns shutout; Potter, Ruggiero have won it all


Adrianne Clarkson presents the Clarkson Cup to captain Chelsey Brodt-Rosenthal, Jenny Potter, and Brooke White-Lancette.

RICHMOND HILL, Canada – The Clarkson Cup is going to the United States after just two years. The Minnesota Whitecaps blanked the Brampton Thunder 4-0 at the Elgin Barrows Arena in Richmond Hill, Ontario, to give the Americans retribution for last year when the Montreal Stars won the inaugural Cup finals.

Megan van Beusekom-Sweerin recorded the shutout for the Whitecaps who got goals from Karen Thatcher in the first period and Jenny Potter in the second. They added two more in the third thanks to Maggie Fisher and Brooke White-Lancette.

The Whitecaps are a team loaded with veterans of Team USA at the IIHF level. Angela Ruggiero, Caitlin Cahow, Molly Engstrom, Jenny Potter, Karen Thatcher, and Julie Chu all played for the Americans at the Olympics in Vancouver last month. In addition, the team has Russian Iya Gavrilova and Finn Heidi Pelttari in the lineup. With the win, Potter and Ruggiero join Caroline Ouellette and Kim St. Pierre of Canada to have won the Clarkson Cup as well as Olympic gold and World Championship gold, the women's equivalent of the Triple Gold Club.

The Thunder also have an impressive lineup. Gillian Apps, Lori Dupuis, Jayna Hefford, and Vicky Sunohara all played on the gold-medal team last month for Canada at the Vancouver Olympics.

The Clarkson Cup, donated to women’s hockey by former governor-general Adrienne Clarkson, represents to women’s hockey what the Stanley Cup is to men. The four-team finals involved the finalists from the CWHL and WWHL, Canada’s two professional leagues.

The Whitecaps beat the Mississauga Chiefs in one semi-final yesterday and the Thunder knocked off the Montreal Stars, 3-2.




New IIHF.com

Quinn and Jack are on track

Tickets now available!

New China office inaugurated

GB’s historic season

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing www.iihf.com pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy