Women make HHOF history

Angela James, Granato, Ciccarelli highlight newest inductees


Angela James and Cammi Granato will be the first two women to be inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame. Photo: Matthew Manor / HHOF-IIHF Images

For the first time in the history of the Hockey Hall of Fame women will be a part of the induction ceremonies in Toronto on November 8, 2010. Angela James and Cammi Granato, who were earlier inducted into the IIHF Hall of Fame in 2008, will be honoured for their on-ice contributions to the sport. Joining them will be 600-goal scorer Dino Ciccarelli and two others in the Builders Category – Jimmy Devellano and Daryl “Doc” Seaman.

James was a star in the Toronto area in the 1980s at a time when there was little organized women’s hockey. She was called the Wayne Gretzky of the women’s game when the IIHF made the World Women’s Championship an official event, starting in 1990, and led Canada to four straight gold medals at the World Women’s Championship during her career (1990, 1992, 1994, and 1997). By the time she retired, she had 22 goals and 34 points in only 20 IIHF championship games.

On virtually every important night, her nemesis was Catherine “Cammi” Granato of the United States. Granato was only 18 when she debuted at the 1990 World Women’s Championship in Ottawa, and over the next 15 years she became the face of women’s hockey in the U.S. She played in eleven World Women’s Championships and Olympics, winning two gold medals and nine silver medals, all final games coming against Canada. She retired in 2005 with 54 goals and 96 points in 54 games, second all-time only to Hayley Wickenheiser.

Ciccarelli’s rise to stardom was all the more extraordinary given that he was never drafted into the NHL. Yet over the course of 19 seasons starting in 1980, he scored 608 goals and 1,200 points. He retired in 1999 and for the past decade has been the top-scoring player not in the Hall.

Jimmy Devellano has been the backbone of a Detroit Red Wings front office that has simply been the best team in the NHL for some 15 years. Under his guidance the team has won four Stanley Cups and established a scouting system, particularly in Europe, that is second to none.

The recently deceased “Doc” Seaman was one of the founding owners of the Calgary Flames.

Other notable names who didn’t receive enough votes in today’s induction committee meeting include: Joe Nieuwendyk, Pat Burns, Doug Gilmour, Pavel Bure, Eric Lindros, Adam Oates, Dave Andreychuk, Phil Housley, Fred Shero, Mark Howe, Sergei Makarov, Mike Vernon, Tom Barrasso, Arturs Irbe, Tommy Salo, Peter Bondra, Fredrik Olausson, Pierre Turgeon.

The Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee comprises some 18 men with vast experience in the game. They are Scotty Bowman, David Branch, Colin Campbell, John Davidson, Eric Duhatschek, Jan-Ake Edvinsson, Mike (Doc) Emrick, Michael Farber, Mike Gartner, Jim Gregory (co-chair), Dick Irvin, Lanny McDonald, Yvon Pedneault, Pat Quinn (co-chair), Serge Savard, Harry Sinden, Peter Stastny and Bill Torrey.




New IIHF.com

Quinn and Jack are on track

Tickets now available!

New China office inaugurated

GB’s historic season

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing www.iihf.com pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy