Swiss women getting ready

Kammerer names roster for World Women’s on home ice


Forward Stefanie Marty and goalkeeper Florence Schelling were among the most successful European players in the 2010 Olympic Winter Games. Photo: Jukka Rautio / HHOF-IIHF Images

ZURICH – The Swiss Ice Hockey Association announced on Friday its roster for the 2011 IIHF World Women’s Championship it will host in Zurich and Winterthur, April 16-25.

Head coach René Kammerer selected three goalkeepers, six defenders and 12 forwards for the first-ever World Women’s Championship on Swiss soil.

The roster includes three players from U.S. college teams and one from Germany while the rest plays either in Switzerland’s top women’s league or with boys’ teams.

The roster is highlighted by goalkeeper Florence Schelling, who has won several awards in the past three seasons with  Northeastern University in Boston and who was the statistically best European goalkeeper in the Vancouver Olympics with a 90.91 save percentage.

She will be joined by Northeastern teammate and defender Julia Marty, and her twin sister and forward Stefanie Marty from Syracuse University. Stefanie Marty was third in scoring in last year’s Olympics with nine goals and two assists, only behind two Canadians, Meghan Agosta and Jayna Hefford.

Switzerland finished fifth last year at the Olympic Winter Games and is fifth in the IIHF Women’s World Ranking.

The host team will play Canada, Finland and Kazakhstan in Group B at the Deutweg rink in Winterthur. Group A including the United States, Sweden, Russia and Slovakia as well as the final round will be staged in Zurich’s Hallenstadion.

Click here for more information about the event.

Swiss roster for the 2011 IIHF World Women’s Championship

Goalkeepers: Anthamatten Sophie (EHC Saastal), Schelling Florence (Northeastern University, NCAA), Slongo Dominique (DHC Langenthal).

Defenders: Frautschi Angela (ZSC Lions Zurich), Marty Julia (Northeastern University, NCAA), Meier Christine (ZSC Lions Zurich), Stalder Lara (EHC Luzern), Thalmann Sandra (EHC Basel), Zollinger Sabrina (ZSC Lions Zurich).

Forward: Benz Sarah (EHC Winterthur), Bullo Nicole (HC Lugano), Häfliger Melanie (SC Reinach), Lehmann Kathrin (Münchner EK, GER), Leimgruber Darcia (ZSC Lions Zurich), Marty Stefanie (Syracuse University, NCAA), Michielin Rahel (SC Reinach), Nabholz Katrin (ZSC Lions Zurich), Raselli Evelina (HC Lugano), Staenz Phoebe (Kloten Flyers), Stiefel Anja (SC Reinach), Wyss Stefanie (Bomo Thun).




Quinn and Jack are on track

Tickets now available!

New China office inaugurated

GB’s historic season

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy