Third WW18 for Burke, Stecklein

USA Hockey announces roster event in Zlin & Prerov

Stora Mossen Stockholm  Sweden

Haley Skarupa (pictured) and Alex Carpenter will play in their third IIHF Ice Hockey U18 Women's World Championship. Photo: Phillip MacCallum / HHOF-IIHF Images

COLORADO SPRINGS, USA – USA Hockey named the 22 players that will compete in the 2012 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 Women's World Championship Dec. 31-Jan. 7 in Zlin and Prerov, Czech Republic.

Highlighting the roster are seven returning members of the gold medal-winning 2011 U.S. Women's National Under-18 Team, including Alex Carpenter and Haley Skarupa, who will be playing in their third IIHF U18 Women's World Championship. Joining them from the 2011 U.S. squad will be defensemen Courtney Burke and Lee Stecklein, and forwards Sydney Daniels, Paige Savage and Dana Trivigno.

The U.S. team includes 20 members of the U.S. Women's Under-18 Team that competed in the 2011 Under-18 Series, a three-game stint against Canada last August in Rockland, Ontario.

Among those who competed in the 2011 Under-18 Series include goaltender Sidney Peters; defensemen Burke, Jordan Hampton, Kaliya Johnson, Samantha LaShomb, Brianna Mastel, Natasha Rachlin and Stecklein; and forwards Dani Cameranesi, Carpenter, Demi Crossman, Daniels, Kate Flug, Molly Illikainen, MaryAnne Kennedy-Menefee, Anne Pankowski, Savage, Kate Schipper, Skarupa and Trivigno.

Goaltender Brianna Laing and forward Miye D'Oench will be making their first appearances with Team USA.

The U.S. Women's National Under-18 Team will open play against Russia on Dec. 31.

Click here for the full U.S. Women's National Under-18 Team roster.
Click here for the schedule of the event.

  • The IIHF Ice Hockey U18 Women's World Championship, being played for the fifth time, includes teams from Canada, the Czech Republic, Finland, Germany, Russia, Sweden, Switzerland and the United States.
  • Team USA captured gold in each of the first two years of the tournament (2008, 2009) as well as last season (2011). In 2010, the team took home the silver medal.
  • Heather Linstad, head women's ice hockey coach at the University of Connecticut, is the head coach of the U.S. Women's National Under-18 Team for the 2011-12 season and will guide the team in the Czech Republic. She will be assisted by Joel Johnson and Hilary Witt.




Quinn and Jack are on track

Tickets now available!

New China office inaugurated

GB’s historic season

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy