Canada finalizes roster

22 players selected for World Juniors in Alberta

HSBC Arena Buffalo New York United States

OHL Goalkeeper of the Year Mark Visentin will be back in the Canadian net for the 2012 IIHF World Junior Championship. He’s one of four returnees from last year’s silver-winning team. Photo: Matthew Manor / HHOF-IIHF Images

CALGARY – Hockey Canada has selected its 22 players following a five-day camp who will form the U20 national team for the 2012 IIHF World Junior Championship in Calgary and Edmonton.

Four members of this year’s roster – Brett Connolly (Tampa Bay, NHL), Quinton Howden (Moose Jaw, WHL), Jaden Schwartz (Colorado College, CCHA) and Mark Visentin (Niagara, OHL) – helped Canada earn the silver medal at the 2011 IIHF World U20 Championship in Buffalo.

The roster includes two players who have been playing in the NHL recently, forwards Brett Connolly (Tampa Bay) and Devante Smith Pelly (Anaheim).

13 players were released from the camp on Thursday and return to their club teams.

“On behalf of Hockey Canada, I want to congratulate the players named to the final roster today, along with their club teams, parents and minor hockey coaches that have helped them reach this level,” said Brad Pascall, Hockey Canada’s vice-president of hockey operations/national teams. “Canada is lucky to have many great young players, and these players should be very proud of their achievement today.”

Canada will play three pre-competition games in Alberta prior to the 2012 IIHF World Junior Championship.

The host nation will have its first game of the 2012 IIHF World Junior Championship on Boxing Day, Dec. 26 against Finland, a game that will be broadcast live by TSN/RDS and on The FAN Radio Network. While the event is officially sold out, tickets are available through a ticket exchange program at

Canada has medalled at thirteen consecutive IIHF World Junior Championships, including gold medal performances in 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009, silver medals in 1999, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2010 and 2011 and bronze medals in 2000 and 2001.

Canada’s 22-man roster for the World Juniors

Mark Visentin, Niagara IceDogs (OHL)
Scott Wedgewood, Plymouth Whalers (OHL)

Nathan Beaulieu, Saint John Sea Dogs (QMJHL)
Brandon Gormley, Moncton Wildcats (QMJHL)
Dougie Hamilton, Niagara IceDogs (OHL)
Scott Harrington, London Knights (OHL)
Ryan Murray, Everett Silvertips (WHL)
Jamie Oleksiak, Saginaw Spirit (OHL)
Mark Pysyk, Edmonton Oil Kings (WHL)

Michaël Bournival, Shawinigan Cataractes (QMJHL)
Brett Connolly, Tampa Bay Lightning (NHL)
Brendan Gallagher, Vancouver Giants (WHL)
Freddie Hamilton, Niagara IceDogs (OHL)
Quinton Howden, Moose Jaw Warriors (WHL)
Jonathan Huberdeau, Saint John Sea Dogs (QMJHL)
Boone Jenner, Oshawa Generals (OHL)
Tanner Pearson, Barrie Colts (OHL)
Mark Scheifele, Barrie Colts (OHL)
Jaden Schwartz, Colorado College (WCHA)
Devante Smith-Pelly, Anaheim Ducks (NHL)
Mark Stone, Brandon Wheat Kings (WHL)
Ryan Strome, Niagara IceDogs (OHL)




Quinn and Jack are on track

Tickets now available!

New China office inaugurated

GB’s historic season

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy