Jaca campéon

Team from Aragon wins Pyrenees clash vs. Puigcerdà


Jaca captain José Antonio Biec and president Francisco José Arbués with the championship trophy. Photo: FEDH

PUIGCERDÀ, Spain – CH Jaca won the Spanish national league for the third time in a row after defeating CG Puigcerdà 3-1 in the final series.

The team from the Aragon province won the first two games on home ice 8-7 and 5-1, but lost the first game at its Catalonian rival 4-1 on Saturday. But Jaca edged Puigcerdà on Sunday in the second road game of the Pyrenees-based clash, 4-2.

Daniel Ortega and Marc Bosom scored two power-play goals for an early 2-1 lead for Puigcerdà, but Desi Pérez tied it up before the first intermission. Pérez and Maxim Martineau scored two more goals to decide the game and series in Jaca’s favour.

For Jaca it’s the 11th title in 38 years. They lead Spanish ice hockey in championships before Txuri Urdin San Sebastian (9), CG Puigcerdà (5), Casco Viejo Bilbao (4), Real Sociedad (4), FC Barcelona (3), Vizcaya (2) and SAD Majadahonda (1).



New IIHF.com

Quinn and Jack are on track

Tickets now available!

New China office inaugurated

GB’s historic season

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing www.iihf.com pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy