IOC members re-elect Fasel

IIHF President to serve another four years on Executive Board


IIHF President René Fasel hands the 2012 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship trophy to Russian captain Ilya Nikulin. Photo: Andre Ringuette / HHOF-IIHF Images

LONDON – The 124th IOC Session in London re-elected IIHF President René Fasel for another four-year term on the International Olympic Committee's Executive Board.

76 IOC members voted for Fasel, 12 against and two abstained.

The Executive Board is the highest body within the IOC and assumes the ultimate responsibility for the administration of the IOC.

The current IOC Session is taking place the British capital of London and the election was held on Thursday, one day before the opening ceremony of the 2012 Summer Olympics.

At the current session, Nawal el Moutawakel (Morocco) and Craig Reedie (Great Britain) were elected as Vice Presidents.

Beside Fasel (Switzerland, winter sport representative), Patrick Hickey (Ireland, representatives of the NOCs), Ching-Kuo Wu (Chinese Taipei, summer sports representative), Claudia Bokel (Germany, Athletes Commission representative), Juan Antonio Samaranch Jr (Spain), Sergei Bubka (Ukraine) and Willy Kaltschmitt (Guatemala) were elected on the IOC Executive Board.

Fasel an IOC member since 1995

Fasel has been serving on the IIHF Council since 1986 and as the IIHF President since 1994. The former hockey referee and player is the only candidate for IIHF presidency for the next four-year term of the IIHF Council. The elections will take place at the IIHF General Congress in Toyko, Japan, 25-29 September 2012.

Fasel was appointed as a member to the International Olympic Committee in 1995.

In 1997, he was commissioned by the IOC to compile a study on the dental treatment of Olympic athletes at the University of Barcelona. He earned the doctor's degree for his impressive work in 2008.

Fasel was elected President of the Association of the International Olympic Winter Sports Federations (AIOWF) in 2002, and he was elected onto the IOC Executive Board for a first four-year term during the 120th IOC Session in Beijing on 7th August 2008.




Quinn and Jack are on track

Tickets now available!

New China office inaugurated

GB’s historic season

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy