New President for Australia

Brown succeeds Rurak, who becomes CEO

MELBOURNE – Ice Hockey Australia elected a new President, Kevin Brown. He succeeds Don Rurak, who becomes the CEO after 15 years of presidency.

Brown had been on Ice Hockey Australia’s board as treasurer. The executive positions run for a four-year term.

After 15 years as Ice Hockey Australia’s President, Don Rurak has taken up the role as Chief Executive Officer for the next four-year term. The transition from President to Chief Executive Officer and the re-structure of federation’s business requirements have been in the planning stages for the past 18 months.

Rurak stated on the website of Ice Hockey Australia: “We are now compelled to spread the ever increasing and demanding workload and knowledge required for the sport. This is in part as a result in the growth of the sport and to ensure it continues well into the future. The appointment of newly elect President, Kevin Brown, is a key component to the sport’s future and I look forward to working with Kevin during this transition. Having worked with the current executive and board for many years, I am confident the sport remains in good hands, although I do not expect my workload to be reduced as our business and strategic plans for the next five years will be even more demanding. The distribution of the day-to-day workload will be most welcomed.”

Rurak went on to further state: “It was both exciting, and at times extremely challenging growing the sport from a base of limited programs and a negative bank balance to one that has over 4,000 members and a healthy bank account. There are many memorable events I will cherish such as the successful hosting of three world championships, our sport’s 2008 centenary celebrations where we honoured our 1960 Squaw Valley Olympians, and the 100-year anniversary of the Goodall Cup, the third oldest national league trophy still played for today.”

“Don has done a tremendous job over the past decade and has put the sport in its healthiest position since its inception,” the newly elected President, Kevin Brown said. “I will be working very closely with Don to ensure we continue to meet the expectations of our membership, stakeholders and to continue fostering the growth the sport.”

Kevin Brown - President (former treasurer)
Clive Connelly - Vice President (returning)
Don Rurak - Chief Executive Officer (former president)
Jim Dee - Secretary (returning)
Vicki Stephenson – Treasurer
Shirley Rurak – IHA Office & Compliance Manager (former administrator)




Quinn and Jack are on track

Tickets now available!

New China office inaugurated

GB’s historic season

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy