Russia, U.S. name candidates

Players to convene for orientation camps


Russia’s Ilya Kovalchuk (left) and U.S. forward Dustin Brown (right) already played at the Olympics in Vancouver 2010. Photo: Jukka Rautio / HHOF-IIHF Images

MOSCOW/COLORADO SPRINGS – The Ice Hockey Federation of Russia and USA Hockey named candidates for their men’s national teams for the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi who were invited to orientation camps in August.

The Ice Hockey Federation of Russia invited 35 players, who will come together in Sochi on 23 and 24 August.

The team coached by Zinetula Bilyaletdinov consists of 18 candidates from NHL teams and 17 players from clubs of the Russian KHL. Ak Bars Kazan is represented by five players, the Columbus Blue Jackets and SKA St. Petersburg with four each.

17 of the players were part of the national team that played most recently at the 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship. 13 players represented Russian in the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver. For Sergei Gonchar it will be the fifth Olympics, for Pavel Datsyuk and Ilya Kovalchuk the fourth.

USA Hockey announced the candidates for a team orientation camp on 26 and 27 August at Kettler Capitals IcePlex in Arlington, Virginia. The 48 invited players represent 24 NHL teams. 16 players have previous Olympic experience, including Dustin Brown (Los Angeles Kings), Zach Parise (Minnesota Wild) and Ryan Suter (Minnesota Wild), three of the alternate captains on the 2010 U.S. Olympic Men's Ice Hockey Team that captured the silver medal.

Nine players on the orientation camp roster played for the bronze-medal winning U.S. team at the 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship including goaltender John Gibson; forwards Nick Bjugstad, Alex Galchenyuk, T.J. Oshie, Craig Smith and Paul Stastny; and defencemen Justin Faulk, Erik Johnson and Jacob Trouba.

The U.S. team will be coached by Dan Bylsma in Sochi 2014.

Russian candidates for the orientation camp

Konstantin Barulin, Ak Bars Kazan (RUS)
Sergei Bobrovski, Columbus Blue Jackets (NHL)
Vasili Koshechkin, Metallurg Magnitogorsk (RUS)
Yevgeni Nabokov, New York Islanders (NHL)
Semyon Varlamov, Colorado Avalanche (NHL)

Yevgeni Biryukov, Metallurg Magnitogorsk (RUS)
Denis Denisov, CSKA Moscow (RUS)
Sergei Gonchar, Dallas Stars (NHL)
Andrei Markov, Montreal Canadiens (NHL)
Yevgeni Medvedev, Ak Bars Kazan (RUS)
Nikita Nikitin, Columbus Blue Jackets (NHL)
Ilya Nikulin, Ak Bars Kazan (RUS)
Yevgeni Ryasenski, SKA St. Petersburg (RUS)
Fyodor Tyutin, Columbus Blue Jackets (NHL)
Vyacheslav Voinov, Los Angeles Kings (NHL)
Anton Volchenkov, New Jersey Devils (NHL)
Alexei Yemelin, Montreal Canadiens (NHL)

Artyom Anisimov, Columbus Blue Jackets (NHL)
Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings (NHL)
Denis Kokarev, Dynamo Moscow (RUS)
Ilya Kovalchuk, SKA St. Petersburg (RUS)
Nikolai Kulyomin, Toronto Maple Leafs (NHL)
Yevgeni Kuznetsov, Traktor Chelyabinsk (RUS)
Yevgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins (NHL)
Alexander Ovechkin, Washington Capitals (NHL)
Alexander Perezhogin, Avangard Omsk (RUS)
Alexander Popov, Avangard Omsk (RUS)
Alexander Radulov, CSKA Moscow (RUS)
Alexander Syomin, Carolina Hurricanes (NHL)
Vladimir Tarasenko, St. Louis Blues (NHL)
Alexei Tereshenko, Ak Bars Kazan (RUS)
Viktor Tikhonov, SKA St. Petersburg (RUS)
Vadim Shipachyov, SKA St. Petersburg (RUS)
Mikhail Varnakov, Ak Bars Kazan (RUS)
Nail Yakupov, Edmonton Oilers (NHL)

U.S. candidates for the orientation camp

Craig Anderson, Ottawa Senators (NHL)
John Gibson, Norfolk Admirals (AHL)
Jimmy Howard, Detroit Red Wings (NHL)
Ryan Miller, Buffalo Sabres (NHL)
Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles Kings (NHL)
Cory Schneider, New Jersey Devils (NHL)

Zach Bogosian, Winnipeg Jets (NHL)
Dustin Byfuglien, Winnipeg Jets (NHL)
John Carlson, Washington Capitals (NHL)
Dan DeKeyser, Detroit Red Wings (NHL)
Justin Faulk, Carolina Hurricanes (NHL)
Cam Fowler, Anaheim Ducks (NHL)
Jake Gardiner, Toronto Maple Leafs (NHL)
Erik Johnson, Colorado Avalanche (NHL)
Jack Johnson, Columbus Blue Jackets (NHL)
Seth Jones, Nashville Predators (NHL)
Nick Leddy, Chicago Blackhawks (NHL)
Paul Martin, Pittsburgh Penguins (NHL)
Ryan McDonagh, New York Rangers (NHL)
Brooks Orpik, Pittsburgh Penguins (NHL)
Kevin Shattenkirk, St. Louis Blues (NHL)
Ryan Suter, Minnesota Wild (NHL)
Jacob Trouba, Winnipeg Jets (NHL)
Keith Yandle, Phoenix Coyotes (NHL)

Justin Abdelkader, Detroit Red Wings (NHL)
David Backes, St. Louis Blues (NHL)
Beau Bennett, Pittsburgh Penguins (NHL)
Nick Bjugstad, Florida Panthers (NHL)
Dustin Brown, Los Angeles Kings (NHL)
Ryan Callahan, New York Rangers (NHL)
Alex Galchenyuk, Montreal Canadiens (NHL)
Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks (NHL)
Ryan Kesler, Vancouver Canucks (NHL)
Phil Kessel, Toronto Maple Leafs (NHL)
Trevor Lewis, Los Angeles Kings (NHL)
Kyle Okposo, New York Islanders (NHL)
T.J. Oshie, St. Louis Blues (NHL)
Max Pacioretty, Montreal Canadiens (NHL)
Kyle Palmieri, Anaheim Ducks (NHL)
Zach Parise, Minnesota Wild (NHL)
Joe Pavelski, San Jose Sharks (NHL)
Bobby Ryan, Ottawa Senators (NHL)
Brandon Saad, Chicago Blackhawks (NHL)
Craig Smith, Nashville Predators (NHL)
Paul Stastny, Colorado Avalanche (NHL)
Derek Stepan, New York Rangers (NHL)
James van Riemsdyk, Toronto Maple Leafs (NHL)
Blake Wheeler, Winnipeg Jets (NHL)




Quinn and Jack are on track

Tickets now available!

New China office inaugurated

GB’s historic season

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy