Vanek to lead Austria

Norway also names Olympic team


Thomas Vanek of the New York Islanders (right) and Patrick Thoresen of the KHL's SKA Saint Petersburg (left) will be counted on to provide the offensive spark for Austria and Norway respectively in Sochi. Photos: Matthew Manor, Richard Wolowicz / HHOF-IIHF Images

ZURICH – The Austrian and Norwegian Ice Hockey Associations have named their Olympic men's squads for the 2014 Winter Games in Sochi.

Click here for details on the nations, groups, and schedule for Sochi 2014

Facing off in Group B with Canada, Finland, and Norway, The Austrians will be counting on NHL superstar Thomas Vanek to drive the offence in Sochi. It's the first time Austria will play in the Olympics since 2002, meaning Vanek will be representing his country in the world's biggest tournament for the first time. Joining him will be Michael Grabner, his teammate on the New York Islanders.

Austria’s veteran leadership will come from Gerhard Unterluggauer, who has played in 239 international games, including Austria’s last Olympics in 1998 and 2002 and in 18 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championships (including Division I). Michael Raffl, a rookie with the NHL’s Philadelphia Flyers, has eleven points in 29 games this season.

13 members from the Norwegian team that participated in Vancouver 2010 will compete for the country once again in Russia. Norway will be looking to improve upon its tenth-place finish in 2010, in what will be coach Roy Johansen's 13th consecutive campaign with the national team.

Forward Mats Zuccarello is the team's lone NHLer. The diminutive forward has had a breakthrough year for the New York Rangers and is currently on pace for a 60-point season. Patrick Thoresen of SKA Saint Petersburg will likely join Zuccarello on the top line. The forward was second overall in scoring at the 2012 World Championship with 18 points in just eight games.

Austria Goalkeepers: Bernhard Starkbaum, Brynäs Gävle (SWE) René Swette, KAC Klagenfurt (AUT) Fabian Weinhandl, KAC Klagenfurt (AUT) Defencemen: Mario Altmann, VSV Villach (AUT) Florian Iberer, KAC Klagenfurt (AUT) Andre Lakos, Vienna Capitals (AUT) Robert Lukas, EHC Linz (AUT) Thomas Pöck, KAC Klagenfurt (AUT) Matthias Trattnig, Red Bull Salzburg (AUT) Stefan Ulmer, HC Lugano (SUI) Gerhard Unterluggauer, VSV Villach (AUT) Forwards: Michael Grabner, New York Islanders (NHL) Raphael Herburger, EHC Biel (SUI) Thomas Hundertpfund, Timrå IK (SWE) Matthias Iberer, EHC Linz (AUT) Thomas Koch, KAC Klagenfurt (AUT) Andreas Kristler, Red Bull Salzburg (AUT) Manuel Latusa, Red Bull Salzburg (AUT) Brian Lebler, EHC Linz (AUT) Daniel Oberkofler, EHC Linz (AUT) Michael Raffl, Philadelphia Flyers (NHL) Thomas Raffl, Red Bull Salzburg (AUT) Oliver Setzinger, Lausanne HC (SUI) Thomas Vanek, New York Islanders (NHL) Daniel Welser, Red Bull Salzburg (AUT)


Lars Haugen, Dinamo Minsk (BLR/KHL) Lars Volden, Espoo Blues (FIN) Steffen Søberg, Vålerenga Oslo (NOR) Defencemen: Alexander Bonsaksen, Vålerenga Oslo (NOR) Jonas Holøs, Lokomotiv Yaroslavl (RUS) Henrik Solberg, Stavanger Oilers (NOR) Daniel Sørvik, Vålerenga Oslo (NOR) Ole-Kristian Tollefsen, Färjestad Karlstad (SWE) Mats Trygg, Lørenskog (NOR) Henrik Ødegaard, Missouri Mavericks (CHL) Forwards: Morten Ask, Vålerenga Oslo (NOR) Anders Bastiansen, Färjestad Karlstad (SWE) Robin Dahlstrøm, Örebro HK (SWE) Kristian Forsberg, MODO Örnsköldsvik (SWE) Mads Hansen, Storhamar Dragons (NOR) Marius Holtet, Färjestad Karlstad (SWE) Sondre Olden, Vålerenga Oslo (NOR) Ken Andre Olimb, DEG Düsseldorf (GER) Mathis Olimb, Frölunda Gothenburg (SWE) Mats Rosseli Olsen, Frölunda Gothenburg (SWE) Niklas Roest, BIK Karlskoga (SWE-2) Martin Røymark, Färjestad Karlstad (SWE) Per-Åge Skrøder, MODO Örnsköldsvik (SWE) Patrick Thoresen, SKA St. Petersburg (RUS) Mats Zuccarello, New York Rangers (NHL)




Quinn and Jack are on track

Tickets now available!

New China office inaugurated

GB’s historic season

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy