Who is your most valuable player?
Brent Burns (CAN)
Sergei Fedorov (RUS)
Mike Green (CAN)
Dany Heatley (CAN)
Tomas Kaberle (CZE)
Evgeni Nabokov (RUS)
Rick Nash (CAN)
Alexander Ovechkin (RUS)
Alexander Semin (RUS)

Gold No. 24 for Big Red Machine

Russia's first World Championship title for 15 years keeps home-ice curse alive.[more]

Russia captain Alexei Morozov is hoisting the World Championship trophy. Photo: IIHF/HHoF/Matthew Manor
QUEBEC CITY – Ilya Kovalchuk’s goal at 2:42 of overtime broke a 4-4 tie and gave Russia an historic gold medal today at the Colisée in one of the most anticipated finals games in many years. Kovalchuk also scored the tying goal with five minutes left in the third period.

If... [more]

Canada tops 2008 World Ranking

Groups for Switzerland 2009 and Vancouver 2010 determined[more]

Canada displaced Sweden as the number one in the World Ranking. Photo: IIHF/HHoF/Jukka Rautio
QUEBEC CITY – Despite losing the 2008 IIHF World Championship final to Russia, Canada grabbed first place in the 2008 IIHF World Ranking by overtaking Sweden. World Champion... [more]

Dany Heatley the best

Player awards given, All-Star Team selected[more]

Quebec City Quebec CanadaCanada's Dany Heatley celebrated the 4-2 goal against Russia but couldn't win gold. Photo: IIHF/HHoF/Jukka Rautio
QUEBEC CITY – The Directorate of the 2008 IIHF World Championship has selected Canada’s Dany Heatley as the best forward and the most valuable player of the tournament. The... [more]

IIHF Centennial All-Star Team

Four Russians, one Swede and one Canadian make the cut[more]

From left: Alexander Kharlamov (son of Valeri Kharlamov), Vladislav Tretiak, Vyacheslav Fetisov, Prime Minister of Canada Stephen Harper, Borje Salming, Edmonton Oilers GM Kevin Lowe (on behalf of Wayne Gretzky), Igor Larionov (on behalf of Sergei Makarov), IIHF President René Fasel. Photo: IIHF/HHoF/Jukka Rautio
QUEBEC CITY – At a gala evening at the Quebec City Convention Centre on Saturday, the IIHF announced its Centennial All-Star Team, featuring the six most successful players in the... [more]

Denmark looking for a new coach

Mike Sirant leaves Danish national team[more]

BRONDBY, Denmark – The Danish Ice Hockey Association announced that the... [more]

Russia’s gain, Canada’s pain

Kovalchuk, Ovechkin, Heatley, and others speak out[more]

QUEBEC CITY – After Russia edged Canada 5-4 in overtime to win gold on Sunday,... [more]

Fasel: "We'll be back!"

IIHF president René Fasel wants to return to Canada – now it's up to Hockey Canada to apply.[more]

QUEBEC CITY – The message from IIHF president René Fasel was loud and clear:... [more]

“Miracle on Ice” is #1 story

1980 US Olympic team honoured at IIHF Centennial Gala Evening[more]

QUEBEC CITY – The IIHF announced Saturday that the top international hockey... [more]


Official Main Sponsor

Official Sponsors AI




konica minolta


Soyuz Victan



Official Partners





Get your 2009 Worlds tickets

Rink size doesn’t matter

Good TV ratings for World Championship

Discipline is key for Russia

Gold medal showdown

A fine Finnish brings bronze

Zaugg: More ballet than murder

Nabokov a showstopper

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing www.iihf.com pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy