Event Information

Statistics Tissot

Malkin wins MVP honours

Awards winners, All-Star Team selected

<- Back to: NEWS SINGLEVIEW 2012

Yevgeni Malkin receives the gold medal from Vladislav Tretiak. He was named MVP, Best Forward and to the All-Star Team. Photo: Jeff Vinnick / HHOF-IIHF Images

HELSINKI – Yevgeni Malkin is the man of the tournament. After winning gold with Russia, he was also named MVP and Best Forward of the 2012 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship.

Malkin also made it to the World Championship All-Star Team for the third time after 2007 and 2010. The Russian had 19 points (11 goals, 8 assists) throughout the tournament to win the scoring title before surprising Norwegian forward Patrick Thoresen, who had seven goals and 11 assists for 18 points. Thoresen and Sweden’s Henrik Zetterberg also made it to the All-Star Team.

Thoresen became the first Norwegian ever to be on an All-Star Team in a top division event of any category.

Slovakia’s Jan Laco was named to the All-Star Team and won the award as Best Goalkeeper of the event. The 30-year-old was in the goal for most of the time in his first IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship and helped his team advance to the gold medal game. He was close behind Russia’s Semyon Varlamov (93.99%) in save percentage with 93.55% prior to the gold medal game.

Slovak giant Zdeno Chara was voted Best Defenceman and named to the All-Star Team along with Russian back Ilya Nikulin.

Individual Awards selected by the Tournament Directorate:
Best Goalkeeper: Jan Laco, Slovakia
Best Defenceman: Zdeno Chara, Slovakia
Best Forward: Yevgeni Malkin, Russia

All-Star Team selected by media vote:
Goal: Jan Laco (SVK)
Defence: Zdeno Chara (SVK) – Ilya Nikulin (RUS)
Forwards: Yevgeni Malkin (RUS) – Patrick Thoresen (NOR) – Henrik Zetterberg (SWE)
MVP: Yevgeni Malkin (RUS)

Official Main Sponsor

Official Sponsors AJ







Nivea for Men





Logo 2 Logo 3 Logo 1
Logo 1 Logo 1 Logo 1 Logo 2 Logo 4
Logo 10 Logo 4 Logo 9 Logo 4 Logo 8 Logo 8 Logo 2 Logo 5 Logo 3 Logo 2 Logo 2 Logo 5 Logo 3 Logo 1 Logo 2 Logo 8 Logo 4 Logo 3 Logo 1
Logo Logo Logo Logo Logo Logo
Logo Logo Logo Logo Logo
Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing www.iihf.com pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy