Champions Hockey League

The Champions Hockey League was introduced for the 2008/2009 season with champions and top teams from seven European countries. The ZSC Lions Zurich (Switzerland) won the first edition in an exciting home-and-away final against Metallurg Magnitogorsk (Russia). Click here for the 2008/2009 season.

Due to the global financial crisis the competition was not played after that season but has been reintroduced for the 2014/2015 season under a new structure. The Champions Hockey League is operated by a new shareholder company in Zug, Switzerland, owned by the IIHF, six founding domestic leagues (Austria, Czech Republic, Finland, Germany, Sweden, Switzerland) and 26 founding clubs from those leagues. Additional teams from these countries as well as from challenge leagues such as from Belarus, France, Denmark, Great Britain, Norway and Slovakia as well as the IIHF Continental Cup winner participate in the leauge that includes 32 teams.

The various stakeholders are represented in the CHL Executive Board that includes IIHF President Rene Fasel as representative of the International Ice Hockey Federation. The commercial partner of the CHL is Infront Sports & Media.

For more information and updates please visit


China’s Olympic dream

From dawn to dusk

First Goodall Cup for Brave

Admirals in Paradice

New CHL season begins

Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy