Who is your most valuable player?
Brent Burns (CAN)
Sergei Fedorov (RUS)
Mike Green (CAN)
Dany Heatley (CAN)
Tomas Kaberle (CZE)
Evgeni Nabokov (RUS)
Rick Nash (CAN)
Alexander Ovechkin (RUS)
Alexander Semin (RUS)

Dany Heatley the best

Player awards given, All-Star Team selected

Quebec City Quebec Canada
Canada's Dany Heatley celebrated the 4-2 goal against Russia but couldn't win gold. Photo: IIHF/HHoF/Jukka Rautio

QUEBEC CITY – The Directorate of the 2008 IIHF World Championship has selected Canada’s Dany Heatley as the best forward and the most valuable player of the tournament. The 27-year-old is the first player ever to earn MVP honours at World Championships twice, as he previously got the award four years ago in Prague.

The Ottawa Senators winger had 12 goals, 8 assists and a plus-minus of +13 in 9 games, making him the top scorer and the top goal scorer of the tournament.

His teammate Brent Burns was selected as the best defenceman of the 2008 IIHF World Championship. Burns led the plus-minus derby (+14). The Minnesota Wild defender scored 3 goals and 6 assists in 9 games, including his two goals in the final game against Russia.

Russia’s Evgeni Nabokov was chosen as best goalkeeper of the World Championship. He joined the Russians during the tournament after being eliminated from the NHL playoffs with the San Jose Sharks. Nabokov played five games and had a 92.86 save percentage.

Best Players Awards selected by the Tournament Directorate:
Best goalkeeper: Evgeni Nabokov (RUS)
Best defenceman: Brent Burns (CAN)
Best forward: Dany Heatley (CAN)
Most valuable player: Dany Heatley (CAN)

The Media All-Star Team:
Goalkeeper: Evgeni Nabokov (RUS)
Defencemen: Mike Green (CAN), Tomas Kaberle (CZE)
Forwards: Dany Heatley (CAN), Alexander Ovechkin (RUS), Rick Nash (CAN)

Official Main Sponsor

Official Sponsors AI




konica minolta


Soyuz Victan



Official Partners




Copyright IIHF. All rights reserved.
By accessing www.iihf.com pages, you agree to abide by IIHF
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy